Home » Other » Marketplace » need some tips please...
need some tips please... [message #207353] Tue, 05 December 2006 04:14 Go to next message
ehegagoka
hi!,

i've been programming on oracle for 2+ years now, but I always get into forms & reports, really I dont feel like using this tools, I'd much more like doing pure coding, backend. I like doing pure pl/sql alone, no gui's included, so I thought I'd apply for a dba, but no one accepts me because i dont have any experience on it, only self study. so I decided to change language, ive been programming also in java, so i got hired into a company that does java & c++ for programming chipsets/semiconductors, i just wanna ask if this is a right move for my career, i mean wont my rate get lower? because from oracle then i move into these languages also far from database programming.
thank you so much again sir/mam

rhani
Re: need some tips please... [message #207500 is a reply to message #207353] Tue, 05 December 2006 16:09 Go to previous messageGo to next message
djmartin
Account Moderator
I would say that you have the perfect mix to make an excellent Java/Oracle programmer. Too many of the young Java wantabes do all their programming, including data structure definitions, in Java. They know little or nothing about PL/SQL or database code or behaviour. Read the sample chapter 'Developing Successful Oracle Applications' of Tom Kyte's book "Export Oracle, Signature Edition" (Apress) [ISBN:1590595254]. Unless these Java thickies learn and understand how the database on which they are basing their work actually runs then they are doomed to produce mediocre to unuseable applications.

You should put yourself forward as an 'applications DBA', but you probably do need extensive experience in database structure design including tuning before you will be great. Alternatively, sell yourself as the 'data structure designer' or 'data structure API writer'.

David