Home » RDBMS Server » Enterprise Manager » Basic Questions About Oracle Management Server.
Basic Questions About Oracle Management Server. [message #68477] Wed, 22 October 2003 15:48 Go to next message
D. Farris
Greetings,
I am very new to Oracle and have a lot of questions. We currently run MS-SQL and are Converting to Oracle. I'm taking a course, but just not learning what I need to know fast enought. So I am turning to this list for some insight.
We have a Dell 6450 with Oracle 9v Standard Edition installed. From what I have learned so far to automate any type of database notification and backup automation the Management Server needs to be used. From what I have read this inteneded for the Enterprise Edition of Oracle, or can this run with Standard Edition Node? Is there any third part software that will accomplish what the Management Server can do? Would installing the Managment Server on another machine require an Enterprise license?
Thank you for your time in advance.
D. Farris
Re: Basic Questions About Oracle Management Server. [message #68481 is a reply to message #68477] Wed, 05 November 2003 21:26 Go to previous messageGo to next message
sachin kumar gupta
Hi Farris,

Even I also recommend to use Oracle Enterprise Edition for Backup automation & other purpose. But here I am able to do most of the things through Oracle Standard Edition. U can use Oracle Management Server for backup automation & even u can create oem repository db in case u want to monitor from any client machine.

Regarding third party backup s/w, Veritas is one of the best s/w. Here u have to use Oracle Agent of Veritas to take hot backup. Even u can use IDR for Full system backup(but full system backup sometimes is very tedious in case u encounter any error).

Regards,
Sachin
Re: Basic Questions About Oracle Management Server. [message #68536 is a reply to message #68477] Wed, 28 January 2004 23:14 Go to previous messageGo to next message
Jeelani